Driving in California
You must carry a valid driver's license from your home state or country. The minimum age for drivers is 16 with training, 18 without. More information on driving regulations and updated information within California visit California Department of Motor Vehicles
Seat belts must be worn by all passengers. Children under 4 years old or weighing less than 40 lbs. must be in an approved safety seat. A new state law further states that children under 6 years old or weighing less than 60 lbs. must be secured in an appropriate child pasenger restraint (safety seat or booster seat)
Required for bicyclist under 18 years old and all motorcyclists.
Drinking and Driving
It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher. If arrested for driving under the influence, you must submit to a chemical test to determine blood alcohol content.
Call the California Department of Transportation for 24-hour information at (916) 445-1534. Or visit
California Department of Transportation
You must report an accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles if anyone is injured or killed, or if more than $500 in damage is incurred.
"Right on Red"
You may turn right at a red light after making a full stop, unless signs indicate otherwise.